Home » Analysis »

June 4, 2008 Print

SB 200: The Bathroom Bill

by CitizenLink Team

Colorado recently enacted SB 200, a law that opens “public accomodations” — including public restrooms — to members of the opposite sex. In the name of protecting transgendered individuals from discrimination, Colorado has paved the way for sexual predators to take advantage of the confusion caused by this law — and endanger women and children.

Below are several resources Focus Action produced in opposition to SB 200, after it became law:

  • Radio ad 

    Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

  • Newspaper ad
  • Tom Minnery, senior vice president of government and public policy at Focus on the Family Action, wrote an op ed about the legislation for the Denver Post

In addition, several resources were produced before the bill became law:


Yes Votes No Votes No Vote Recorded or Excused
Bob Bacon Greg Brophy
Betty Boyd Bill Cadman
Dan Gibbs Ted Harvey
Ken Gordon Steve Johnson
Peter Groff Ken Kester
Bob Hagedorn Mike Kopp
Jim Isgar Andrew McElhany
Maryanne Keller Shawn Mitchell
John Morse Joshua Penry
Chris Romer Scott Renfroe
Paula Sandoval Dave Schultheis
Gail Schwartz Nancy Spence
Brandon Shaffer Jack Taylor
Stephanie Takis Steve Ward
Abel Tapia Tom Wiens
Lois Tochtrop
Ron Tupa
Jennifer Viega
Suzanne Williams
Sue Windels


Yes Votes No Votes No Vote Recorded or Excused
Debbie Benefield David Balmer Wes McKinley – Excused
Alice Borodkin Doug Bruce
Bernie Buescher Bob Gardner
Dorothy Butcher Cory Gardner
Morgan Carroll Stella Garza-Hicks
Terrance Carroll James Kerr
Edward Casso Steve King
Kathleen Curry Kent Lambert
Mark Ferrandino Larry Liston
Randy Fischer Marsha Looper
Jerry Frangas Kevin Lundberg
Sara Gagliardi Frank McNulty
Rafael Gallegos Don Marostica
Gwyn Green Tom Massey
Mary Hodge Mike May
Cheri Jahn Victor Mitchell
Joel Judd Ellen Roberts
John Kefalas Ray Rose
Andrew Kerr Jerry Sonnenberg
Jeanne Labuda John Soper
Claire Levy Debbie Stafford
Liane McFadyen Amy Stephens
Anne McGihon Ken Summers
Alice Madden Spencer Swalm
Rosemary Marshall Michael Merrifield Robert Witwer
Karen Middleton
Cherylinn Peniston
Jack Pommer
Dianne Primavera
Joe Rice
Jim Riesberg
Andrew Romanoff
Christine Scanlan
Judy Solano
Nancy Todd
Paul Weissmann>
Al White