Home » Analysis »

February 3, 2011 Print

Check Out the Senators Who Bucked Their Home States on the Health Care Repeal

by CitizenLink Team

As expected, the Senate voted on but failed to pass a repeal of President Obama’s health care law.  The vote tally was 47-51 in opposition.  Sixty votes were needed.   As my colleague Bruce pointed out here and here, the health care law fight isn’t over.  A federal judge recently declared the health care law unconstitutional, and a whopping 26 states had joined in that lawsuit.  Virginia has filed a separate lawsuit and Oklahoma plans to.

So, if your state is filing a lawsuit to have the health care law declared unconstitutional, wouldn’t you, as a U.S. senators make sure to vote in favor of the law’s repeal? Well, 18 U.S. senators said no, and bucked their state’s lawsuit to make sure that the behemoth health care train keeps charging ahead.  (Did I mention a majority of Americans want the law repealed?)

The following is a list of senators (all Democrats but trust me, had there been any Republicans, they’d be there too), whose states are currently fighting against the health care law but who voted against repealing it anyway (I’ve also included the only two non-voting senators):

  1. Alaska — Begich (D)
  2. Colorado — Bennet (D), Udall (D)
  3. Connecticut — Lieberman (I) ** did not vote**
  4. Florida  — Nelson (D),
  5. Iowa — Harkin (D)
  6. Louisiana — Landrieu (D)
  7. Michigan — Levin (D),  Stabenow (D)
  8. Nebraska — Nelson (D)
  9. Nevada — Reid (D)
  10. North Dakota — Conrad (D)
  11. Ohio — Brown (D)
  12. Pennsylvania — Casey (D)
  13. South Dakota — Johnson (D)
  14. Virginia — Webb (D),  Mark Warner (D) ** did not vote **
  15. Washington — Cantwell (D), Murray (D)
  16. Wisconsin — Kohl (D)

Of the 18 senators who voted against the repeal and their state’s lawsuit position, nine are up for re-election in 2012.  Remember their names:

  1. Ohio — Sherrod Brown (D)
  2. Washington — Maria Cantwell (D)
  3. Pennsylvania — Robert Casey, Jr. (D)
  4. North Dakota — Kent Conrad (D)
  5. Wisconsin — Herb Kohl (D)
  6. Nebraska — Ben Nelson (D)
  7. Florida — Bill Nelson (D)
  8. Michigan — Debbie Stabenow (D)
  9. Virginia — Jim Webb (D)

As always, you can use our CitizenLink Action Center to contacted your elected officials.